Azores Christmas Conference 2015

This week was a lot of fun!  On Thursday we had the Azores Christmas Conference.  It will be a great memory for all of us.  President and Sister Tavares, the APs and all of the island missionaries attended.  The mission rented a bus and picked up all of the missionaries.

That's me way in the back.

That’s me way in the back.

Our sweet ride to dinner.

Our sweet ride to dinner.

They took us out to dinner at a restaurant named Quinta dos Açores. I had a tasty hamburger without the bun.

Fun at the restaurant.

Fun at the restaurant.

Quinta dos Açores will never be the same!

Quinta dos Açores will never be the same!

While waiting for the server to bring our meals, we entertained ourselves by drawing each other without looking at the paper.  You should see some of the pictures.  They turned out rather funny.

My drawing of my companion Sis. Landbeck.

My drawing of my companion Sis. Landbeck.

After lunch, we went back to the chapel, had a little talent show and did a gift exchange.  Sister Brodrick ended up with my name.  She and her husband are a couple serving as missionaries on the island.  Sis. Brodrick gave me a ceramic trivet, an Azores apron and hot pads with a little cookbook.  It´s a really great gift!

My gifts from Sis. Brodrick.

My gifts from Sis. Brodrick.

We all pitched in and got Sister Tavares, a really cool t-shirt! and more cookbooks.  And what would a Christmas party be without a visit from Santa Claus?

Santa makes his visit to the islands.

Santa makes his visit to the islands.

On Saturday we had the opportunity to eat some Portuguese cuisine.  Francesinhas (aka heart attack with bread).

IMG_0147

It is a sandwich that originates in Porto.  It is really popular up north.  The sandwich includes a slice of bread, ham, steak, sausage, another slice of bread, cheese, and a fried egg on top.  Then the entire sandwich is doused in this amazing sauce. Because I did not get to serve in Porto, I have never had one.  I am glad that I am not serving in the north because I would have gained a ton of weight.

This week we also had the opportunity to do splits.  Sister Lewis and Sister Mancuso visited and I got to go with Sister Mancuso.

Sister Harper and Sister Mancuso.

Sister Harper and Sister Mancuso.

It was cool because President Tavares came with us and taught a lesson.  It was amazing to see the simple power that he has when he teaches.  Have a great week everybody!

Leave a Reply

