Every Week In Setubal Is An Adventure

Well at least this week was.

Setubal Sunset.

Setubal Sunset.

Tuesday we had interviews with president.  Wednesday we had the Sister Training Leaders over for splits.  We also discovered that we (being me) had some fleas.  Sister Neilsen and I thought the weird little bug bites that I had been getting at night were just mosquito bites.  But NOPE!   It had to be fleas.  Thankfully our district leader was a pro at the extermination techniques.  And things seem to be under control for now.  I have not been awakened with any new bites.  We are just glad we caught it early on.

Thursday we had to stay in the house for so long because the men came to fix our house and make sure that no water will come exploding out of the sink again. YEAY!!!!

Here in Portugal, we are keeping the tradition alive!  We the Sisters of Setubal planned to go out to eat when the men were at Priesthood meeting.  But Saturday wasn’t going to work out because of schedules.  So we went out on Friday evening instead.  SUSHI!  It was really good 🙂

Sushi.

Sushi.

Charlotte Selfie

Charlotte Selfie

On Saturday we had the opportunity to go to a wedding, it was the cutest thing ever!  The Groom started crying when the bride walked in and you could see how much he loved her!  It was so great! Then it was time for conference!  WOOHOO!  Guess who showed up at the wedding?  Sister Anaya, my companion from the MTC.  It was great to see her.

Sis. Mills & Sis. Anaya.

Sis. Mills & Sis. Anaya.

Bernardo and me.

Bernardo and me.

My favorite talk from Women’s Conference was President Uchtdorf.  He reminded me that even when we have hard times we can still be happy because we know that the Savior withstood all that we have gone through in this life.

genconf2015-uchtdorf-priesthood

I am writing this on Monday morning.  We still have yet to watch the Sunday Afternoon session but thus far my favorite talk was that of Elder Holland.  His his testimony of the love of mothers really touched my heart.  I remembered all of the love that my mother has shown for me over the years and how much she has done for me!  LOVE YOU MAMA!

genconf2015-holland-sat-pm

Conference Sunday was also 20th birthday, and a baptism!  Dina the woman I talked about last week got baptized!!  We were so happy for her and she kept telling us “Today is the first day of my new life!”  She started crying when I talked about baptism! It is amazing how the Lord can change people and make it possible for them to start anew.

IMG_0203

The Missionaries of Setubal. Elder Hart, Sister Neilsen, me, Sister Steagall, Sister Landbeck, Elder Martinez

The Missionaries of Setubal. Elder Hart, Sister Neilsen, me, Sister Steagall, Sister Landbeck, Elder Martinez

Another thing this week.  We got the Elders back in Setubal! Elder Welch and Elder Gomes, Elder Welch is our district leader.

Elder Welch and Elder Gomes

Elder Welch and Elder Gomes

This is in his second transfer.  But he speaks Portuguese really well and is doing a really good job.  His companion is Elder Gomes.  He is not a full time missionary.  He is a local member.  But has his missionary application papers in and is waiting for his mission call.  We hope he gets it soon so that he can serve a full time mission.  Elder Welch is a very nice person.  At the end of every phone report, he asks us if there is anything that he and his companion can do for us.  I’ve been on my mission for almost a year now and I have been answering that question the same way for a long time.  When they ask what do we need I always say bolachas, or cookies in English.  Elder Welch and Elder Gomes are the first missionaries to actually make us cookies right away.  Two days after my request, the cookies were on our doorstep and they were pretty dang good might I add.

Bolaches

Bolaches

Thanks Elders!!

Love you all!

IMG_0200

One thought on “Every Week In Setubal Is An Adventure

Leave a Reply

