Oh How Lovely Was The Morning

Olá tudo mundo!

Two weeks ago Sister Harper and I were taking a power break in the chapel. I wanted to play the piano so I grabbed a hymn book and started playing Que Manha Maravilhosa(Joseph’s Smith’s First Prayer) and an idea popped into my head.  “Sister Mills, you should try and arrange this with all the different languages of your district” (Elder De Cesare speaks Italian and Elder Jimenez speaks Spanish). I had a basic idea for what I wanted in my head but I couldn’t figure out how to work it out completely.  Thankfully, I had the help of my wonderful companion and we figured out how it would work.  The only problem was that Elder Jimenez didn’t want to sing.

IMG_1906

But Sister Harper speaks French too so we worked it out!  Sister Harper and I sang the First verse in English, Elder De Cesare and I sang the Second verse in Italian, and then sister harper and Elder De Cesare sang the Third verse in French.  We had a little pause where we spoke the first vision in our different languages.

I saw a pillar of light exactly over my head, above the brightness of the sun, which descended gradually until it fell upon me. Quando la luce stette su di me, io vididue Personaggi il cui splendore e la cui gloria sfidano ogni descrizione, ritti sopra di me nell’aria. L’un d’eux me parla, m’appelant par mon nom, et dit, en me montrant l’autre: Este é Meu FilhoAmado. Ouve-O!

Then we then sang the last verse in Portuguese in three part harmony.

We had the opportunity to sing for our Zone Conference with President Tavares.

Setubal Zone August 2015

It was amazing to feel the spirit so strong and to have that confirming testimony that this church really is true, that Joseph Smith saw Jesus Christ and the Father and that we have the fullness of the gospel restored on the earth! That’s really what makes the difference here, and makes our work worthwhile, to really know that this church is the Church of Jesus Christ.

We had my nine month celebration on Wednesday with our sister training leaders.  I have been out for half my mission.  It was a lot of fun.  I made African Spaghetti!  For some reason it always seems to lack the flavor of the salt and I don’t understand it but it turns out good none the less.

Everything is good here!  Hope you all have a great week 🙂

IMG_1911 IMG_1912 IMG_1914

Leave a Reply

