We Are Never Truly Alone

Olá tudo mundo!

This has definitely been a steep learning curve week, realizing that I’m the one that knows the area and the people and I’m responsible to introduce my new companion to all the people you know.  It really has been a humbling and lonely experience.  I find myself in a country where I know the language but only at the level of a child.  But it’s good to know that we are all never truly alone.

IMG_1191

 With Páscoa (Easter) coming up, President Fluckiger gave us an assignment to study the last week of Christ’s life, his death, resurrection and his teachings afterward.  We have been studying that in companion study.  That particular assignment has really helped me keep going through this week. . . to know that Jesus Christ felt the way that all of us have felt when we are alone or are going through rough times.  I know that His love never leaves us.  All we have to do is open our hearts and let Him in to lift us up to something better 🙂  I know that this is the reason I’m here in Portugal, to help my Irmãos e Irmãs (Brothers and Sisters) find the peace and comfort that comes from knowing that in the strength of the Lord, all things are possible.  All trials and heartaches can be swallowed up in his love.  The trials may not be made easier but He will strengthen us to the point where we can endure all things.  That’s what I love about this gospel, having the knowledge that we can be made perfect through the sacrifice of Christ and through our own sacrifices and trials.

I know that He lives and loves each and every one of us and suffered so that we don’t have to.  I think that is glorious knowledge to have in this life and I am so happy to be here sharing it with others in their native tongues.

Leave a Reply

