Out with the Old and In with the New. Well Sort Of. . .

We learned last week that transfers were coming.  We were told that one of us was going to leave the apartment and one of us was going to stay in Miratejo.  But as usual, they didn’t tell us who was leaving and who was staying.

The Miratejo District

The Miratejo District

So then we had to face all the member and investigators.  It was sad telling them that one of us would be leaving.  People don’t really understand the logistics behind a mission and never really understand why we get transferred.  It was pretty rough.  One thing that was strange about it was that Sister Lewis and I both had the feeling that I would be leaving.

The positive thing about the week was that we had the opportunity to visit with a lot of people from our ward.  For example, on Thursday we met with a sister from our ward who doesn’t come to church very often because she just can’t get around.  She lost both her legs.  Even with her problems, Irmã Rosa is the sweetest woman I think I have ever met!  She always has a smile on her face and is always so happy.  I love that.  It’s amazing!

Irma Rosa

Irma Rosa

On Saturday we had dinner with Irmã Lusia.  I think that I’ve mentioned her before.  She is the one that taught Sister Lewis how to make Cape Verde Spaghetti which is pretty delicious.  She also taught us a little bit of creole from Cape Verde!!!   That is fun.  We didn’t learn enough for me to actually converse with people.  But now I know enough to surprise people with my creole and get them to open up a bit.  They are always surprised when the little white girl starts talking to them creole!  You should see their reactions.  It’s funny.  I’m glad to learn this trick to help find people.

Irma Luisa

Irma Luisa

Sunday we had lunch with our Miratejo parents the Santos family! They are so cool.  I love them so dearly.

The Santos Family

The Santos Family

On top of all this craziness, we knew that one of the Elders from our District was leaving.  Elder Schroeder finished his Mission and was heading home.  When a missionary leaves to go home, we the missionaries who are remaining say that the departing missionary is dying.  You can’t have someone die without having a funeral.  So we had a funeral for him at District meeting on Tuesday.  It was hilarious.  We all dressed in black.  The mustaches that Elder Pitcher brought for all of us to wear put us in a much more somber mood.  We sang “God Be With You Till We Meet Again”.  And it’s not a funeral without funeral potatoes, right?.  So I made a batch.  They were pretty delicious!

IMG_1153

But in the end, it was Sis. Lewis who was right and I was wrong.  Sis. Lewis was the one transferring.  😦  We got a call right from the Mission Office after lunch on Sunday.  They told Sis. Lewis to pack all of things and they told us both to pack an overnight bag.  We got on the train at 9:00 p.m. and headed for Lisbon.  When we got to the Mission Office we found out that Sis. Lewis was being assigned to a different companion in Lisbon itself.  I know that that is where she needs to be and I have more work to do in Miratejo.

It was then that I was also told who my new companion would be.  Surprise, it is Sister Smith.  Yes, that’s right!

IMG_0278

She was my companion in the MTC.  Now we are colegas again!!!  How Crazy!?!?!?!  I knew that no matter how this transfer was going to go, it would amazing!! And in fact is was.

Com Amor, Sister Mills

Leave a Reply

