Goodbye MTC! Hello Miratejo!

Olá familía e amigos!

 

What a crazy week!  We left the MTC on December 9, 2010.  It started at around 1:30 in the morning.  We got up that early so we could wave goodbye to Elder M., the only Elder in our MTC district.  We went back to the room slept, for an hour, and got up again to see off Sister A.  Then we went back to sleep for a few more hours.  At 8:30, Sister S. and I reported to the MTC travel office for the last time.

IMG_0405

We got to the platform for the light rail train, the Frontrunner, that was to take us to the SLC airport.  A couple of nice guys who had been on their missions in Argentina helped us with our luggage.  We rode for a while and then the public announcement voice said “This train is now southbound!” “WHAT?!?!?!?!?”  I guess we almost missed our stop.

With some more help we threw our bags (not literally but it felt like it) off the train struggled to get to the Trax commuter rail that eventually took us to the airport.  When we got to the counter to check our luggage, the kind lady said “Your original flight is going to be delayed and I don’t want you to miss your connecting flight to London.  So I’m moving you to a flight that leaves in half an hour.  Go to your gate right now.  The plane is boarding”.  We sprinted to security and then ran to the gate to get on our plane headed to Dallas.  We got to Dallas and made our connection to London.  We arrived in Europe on December 10, 2014.  We had to sit around in London because our plane was delayed.  Finally we boarded the plane to Portugal where we met President and Sister Fluckiger.

IMG_0418

On our way to the mission home from the Airport we were told the areas in which we would be serving Sister S. was assigned to Viseo in the north while I was assigned to Miratejo with a Sister L. as my Companion!  The red pin is of Miratejo.

Miratejo

At the mission home, we met the Assistants to the President and several other missionaries who had gone to the Spain MTC.  We had a delicious lasagna dinner, a little testimony meeting and then we went off to bed which was much needed by that point.

We woke up the next morning, met our Companions, had breakfast, had a little training and then we were sent on our way! Sister L. and I hauled my luggage onto a train and then a bus back to our apartment in Miratejo which is right over the Tejo River from Lisbon.  Sis. L is from Tampa, Florida.  She and I were meant to be together.  Sis. S. is 5’10” tall and I am 4’10” tall so we will make a great pair.

IMG_0421

Once I was semi-settled we went off to work.  I had absolutely no idea what anyone said to me.  They all talked really fast and I just stood there, trying to smile.  I’m sure I had a look of confusion on my face.  That was pretty much the rest of the week.  The most I can say at this point is Olá, Bom dia, Boa tarde, boa noite (depending on what time of the day it is) Tudo Bem? Como Está? But I’ll get there. And obviously, I sound like a Brasileira(Brazilian).  I’ve had at least 15 people ask me if I am from Brazil and I answer “Não Eu sou Americana.”{In the MTC all of my language teachers were Brazilian Portuguese speakers}  Mais Tudo Bem.  At least they understand a little of what I’m trying to say.

Sunday wasn’t much better.

IMG_0458 (1)

The members understood that I am a greenie and tried to talk slower.  It didn’t help much.  But I appreciated that they were trying.   I also appreciated lunch.  by Irmã Fatima M. whose children are learning English, fed us.  She wanted us to talk to her children in English.  That made me feel good.  I found out that her 15-year- old son plays League of Legends.  So, shout out to my brother for giving me a little something I could talk about with a 15-year-old boy on another continent.  Thanks Adam.

We also visited the home of an older Sister and her husband whose name I don’t remember.  They were so funny.  As she said when I was sitting there smiling “Estás em uma casa de locos” (You’re in a house of crazies).  It was fun.

That was my week this week and we are planning on getting new investigators this week and baptize some of them by the end of the month.  I have faith that all things can happen through the Lord.

Tchau! Bom Dia!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye MTC! Hello Miratejo!

  1. Sounds like you are doing well. Keep up the good work. 18 months will fly by. Have a great Christmas and a very happy and successful New Year!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

