MTC 2!

Oi amigos e familia,

Week two has been a bit strange.  On Tuesday after my last email we all had the opportunity to hear a BYU devotional by Elder Evans of the Seventy.  He’s the one that said in his conference prayer “May our strength be faithened”.  He talked about tenacity and enduring to the end.  I had an Elder who was sitting in front of me who asked if I could take a picture of him… with my camera… just so I could have it…Very Mature!

201411116

Anyway the rest of the week went smoothly.  We got a second teacher, Irma Kimball.  She was the one who played our first “investigator” or pesquisador.  She’s an awesome teacher and we’re her first district!  Most days, we spend ten hours in the classroom, either being taught or studying.  It gets a little repetitive.  But I am learning all I can.

Sunday was Amazing!  Apparently only the sisters here at the MTC get to watch the broadcast of Music and the Spoken Word which is really cool!  For Relief Society, we had Sister Bonnie Oscarson, President of the General Young Women’s give us advice on the mission.  She told us to be ourselves and to give it all we’ve got.  When we do that, we won’t have regrets.  The Sunday evening devotional was amazing as well! We had Elder and Sister Condie speak to us.  Sister Condie is a cute little German Grandma who talked about testimonies.  Elder Condie was Hilarious, yet also super spiritual.  He talked about a lot of things and did a pretty spot-on impression of President Hinkley.

Sunday was also kind of sad.  The majority of our zone left this week.  I’m a tad upset because they are the ones who I would turn to if I had questions about the differences between the Portuguese de Brazil and the Portuguese de Portugal.  Now there are only five sisters in the district including me.  Pretty soon I’m going to be the one helping out the cute new little sisters.  How Crazy is that?!  In addition to the sisters leaving, we got a new sister in our room! Sister Knapp.  Sshe’s going to Brazil but she’s what we call a solo sister, meaning that she is the only girl in her district. So what happens is she sleeps with us we drop her off in her classroom, pick her up again for gym time drop her off again then pick her up after our classes when we get done at 9:30 then rinse repeat the next day.

The weather threw us a curve ball.  The whole week we had nice weather then BAM! Monday comes and it’s freezing and the snow is flurrying.  I guess that’s life for you.  Everything is going fine and then suddenly you have to bundle up and push against the cold.

Another Monday Curveball.  Six of the missionaries in our district got their visas and are leaving tomorrow.  I’m sad.  But I know it’s for a good cause.  I was studying the Book of Mormon and I came across a scripture Alma 17: 13  And it came to pass when they had arrived in the borders of the land of the Lamanites, that they separated themselves and departed one from another, trusting in the Lord that they should meet again at the close of their harvest; for they supposed that great was the work which they had under taken.

It made me feel better because I know that we all were supposed to meet again but our time together has been completed for now.  We will be able to see each other again.

That’s all I got for this week.

Tchau! Boa Dias!

Leave a Reply

