Week 1 at the MTC!

Ola Amigos e Familia!

Provo Temple

Week 1 at the MTC has been a blast and yet stressful.  I got through Day 1 with quite a bit of confusion.  Irmao (Brother) Grey, the Portuguese teacher for my class, talked only in Portuguese and there was so much to do! I only understood him when he pointed at the English written on the board.  I have two companions: Sister S. and Sister A. and they are awesome!  We are the only three in our room but we’ve been told not to expect that to last.  We have 18 people in our class, consisting of 2 districts, 7 sisters, 11 Elders, and of those 18 missionaries how many of us are going to Portugal? That’s right just my two companions and I.  The rest are going to Brazil.  I feel bad for them because they all were meant to go to the Brazil MTC but their visas didn’t come through.  But I wouldn’t have it any other way.  We all get along really well and I’m going to be sad when we all have to leave.

Day 2.  We were told that we had to teach a lesson to an “investigator” the next day . . . In Portuguese… I was stressed trying to figure out what Irmao Grey was trying to say! How was I supposed to teach someone when I didn’t understand what was being said?! We decided to try and speak only Portuguese in our rooms.  We even put up sticky notes of what things are around the room.  That idea only lasted about 30 minutes due to the fact that it took us so long to shuffle through our dictionaries to find the words we wanted.

Day 3.  On day three Sisters A., S., and I struggled through our lesson and probably made no sense at all but we made it.  In the spirit of Halloween we “Dressed up” as each other.  In reality we just switched name tags but we changed back before the lesson.

So far I’ve met a couple of Elders from Vegas, Elder L. (In my district) lived near the temple, Elder T. knows the our cousins, the Crosses, and Elder D. went to Shadow Ridge High School!

Day 4.  Our first Sunday here was Fast Sunday and it was amazing.  I wouldn’t normally call it amazing but it was.  We heard from Bro. & Sis. R. a member of a branch Presidency, Pres. & Sis. H., First counselor in the MTC Presidency, and Pres. & Sis. N., the MTC President.  We got to walk around the Temple and it was cold.  Sister S. was laughing at me because I’ve started bundling up.  I am constantly freezing when we’re outside.  (Thanks for the wool Sweater Mom!)  I asked Elder J. to take a picture of all of the sisters in our districts.  I know now that was a mistake because he hijacked my camera and ended up taking a bunch of random pictures.

At dinner that night Sister H. dared all the Elders to drink a mix of all of the possible drinks including milk, soda and juice.  Elder M. took a sip but Elder J. downed the whole glass.  His face said it all!   For our evening devotional we got to hear from Sister Nelson, wife of Elder Russell Nelson.  She was awesome!

Day 5.  Monday morning we were all worried because Irmao G.’s schedule changed and we didn’t know what would happen.  We sat for a few minutes wondering if he would show up but we did our own thing until he showed up.  It worked out fine.    I gave my three extra bags of Jelly Bellies to the Elders and as expected, they were gone by the end of the day.

We were challenged by the Branch Presidency to read the Book of Mormon by the end of the 6 weeks we have here in English.  So far I’ve managed to make it to 2 Nephi.  Let’s hope I can do it.

Day 6 is Preparation Day.  That’s been my week this week!

Tchau( Pronounced Chaio) (Bye) Boa Dias (Good Day!)

One thought on “Week 1 at the MTC!

Leave a Reply

